In this series of articles we will be covering 10 simple but useful tips for technicians that are using Lightwright 5. Every month we will release a short explanation and tutorial of each tip. 

 
  Top Ten Tips

 
 

1. Work Notes

2. Gel Cut Sheets

3. Dimming System Balancing

4. Focus Charts

5. Instrument Counting

6. Networked Editing

7. Update Tracking

8. Reporting

9. Gobo Inventory

10. Color Scrolls/Wheels 

 
     
   Tip #6 - Networked Editing    
     

 

I have seen different solutions for a design team editing a Lightwright 5 file. Be it Dropbox,

 

Google Drive, or the internal networking of Lightwright 5 all have their Pros and Cons. In this article I will take you through the process of setting up Networked Editing with a Lightwright 5 file.

First there are a few settings that need to be made on your networked computers to make sure they can talk to each other.  These can be found on John’s website at, http://www.mckernon.com/_/Networking_Support.html.

All of the computers must be on the same network subnet. That means that the first three groups of numbers in their IP addresses must match.


For example, two computers whose IP addresses are 123.145.89.1 and 123.145.89.2 are on the same subnet, but 123.145.89.1 and 123.145.50.2 are not.


Port 24695 must be open for TCP


Port 24696 must be open for UDP


The network routers must support multicasting.


The network must permit UDP Multicasting using the Class D address 239.192.0.1


All computers must be within 32 network “hops” (a.k.a. “Time to Live”) of each other.

Your IP address can be found on a PC by opening the start menu and running cmd and typing in ipconfig and pressing enter. On a mac you need to open System Preferences and then select Network and your IP address will be at the top of the window. 

For the TCP and UDP ports as long as you initially allowed incoming connections these ports will be open. 

To make sure multicasting is enabled you need to check with your network admin to make sure your routers have it enabled. 

After all of these settings are verified you are ready to do some setup in Lightwright 5. To get to the network settings click SETUP then People and Network. In this window you will be able to see the people that have opened your file on the network. 

 


     
 


 
     
 

I currently have Lorlyn and Erin working on this file with me and I have set them both to transmit. Setting the user to transmit allows the show file to be sent to them. You can also set the file to be transmitted every time it is saved locally. In this window you can see the last time someone has transmitted the file. You are also able to see if the user is online and working in the same show as you. 


When you receive a file you will get a notification in Lightwright that will prompt you to click to see options. There are two options; you can either save the file or discard the file. 

 

 

 
     
 


 
     
 

When saving it you will be prompted to save as a new file. Once this is done you can merge the changes from the file by going to FILE and selecting Merge Show Files in this window you can select the specific items you would like to merge by their type.     

 This is a very simple way of notifying a production team of updates to paperwork in a timely manner and allows everyone the ability to see changes.  

  
 
     
 


 
     
 

 

 

 
     
     
 

 

 
 
     
     
     
 


Next Month: An overview of update tracking